Only a fraction of the world's information is available for free on the Web. Think of all the books, articles, reports, and other materials that are copyrighted and available for sale. Think of all the materials that were published before the Web existed. Many of these are not available on the Web, or they are available only through paid sites.
Although you access GALILEO on the Web, they are different resources. When we talk about the Web, we usually mean information that is freely-available online. Many good quality information sources, such as scholarly journal articles, are only available online for a fee. The UGA Libraries pay for subscriptions to these journals and other research databases so that you can access them without charge via GALILEO@UGA or Google Scholar.
What GALILEO has that the Web doesn't:
- Journal articles: Search within GALILEO@UGA for quality journal articles already paid for by the UGA Libraries
- Databases: Use the subject-specific databases for more in-depth searches on your topic
- Older articles: Search the historical databases for older articles not available on the Web, i.e., an Atlanta Constitution article from the 1920s or an article from The Pennsylvania Magazine from 1775.
- Full text books: Although most books are still only in print format, you can find full text books in GALILEO or on our E-Books page. Free web-based sites such as Google Books cannot display the full-text of books that are within copyright; since the Libraries purchase ebooks, UGA students may access them online through GALILEO.
- Search functions: Most databases offer sophisticated search functionality not available even in Advanced Google searching. Examples include the ability to retrieve only full-text results, only peer-reviewed articles, or only book chapters. Other options may include searching only the title, subject keywords, and abstract of a publication to retrieve results that are closer to your topic.
- Professional indexing: Database companies hire skilled human indexers to identify subject headings to describe the articles and books in the database. Google searches are computer-generated.