Finding Sound Recordings

Why use a sound recording?

Sound recordings can include music, speech, environmental sounds, etc.

How do I find a sound recording?

  1. Musical audio CDs, tapes, and some LPs are in the Music Library located in the School of Music. LPs are in the Media Department in the basement of the Main Library. These recordings may be checked out by UGA students, faculty, and staff for three days. Most of the sound recordings collection can be found in the library catalog GIL-Find:
    • From the GIL-Find homepage, type in your title, composer, musical work, artist, or keyword and click on 'Find.'
    • Under the 'Narrow' menu at the left of your results list, click on 'Audio.'
  2. The Walter J. Brown Media Archives within the UGA Libraries has an extensive collection of radio and audio recordings both musical and nonmusical (oral histories, interviews, sermons, etc.).
  3. The Libraries have several databases with streaming music [GALILEO password required for off-campus use]:
  4. The Libraries' Peabody Awards Archive has a selection of streaming radio programs that were nominated for or won Peabody Awards:
    • Use the 'Precision Search' in the Peabody Awards database.
    • Type RADIO in the top search box and select 'TV, Radio and/or Web' from the drop-down menu.
    • Type a subject keyword or phrase in the second search box and leave it as 'Keyword Anywhere.'
    • You may limit your results to programs available online; those not available online may be listened to in Media Archives.
  5. The Internet Archive has a large number of streaming audio collections for free listening.