Searching National Databases

Primary sources related to your topic may be available around the state and across the country. These databases in GALILEO@UGA that will help you identify libraries and archives that have the materials you seek:

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)

WorldCat [GALILEO password required for off-campus use]

ArchiveGrid

A few of the major research archives, libraries, and museums with national holdings are:

Library of Congress collects and exhibits the rarest, most interesting, or significant items relating to the history of the United States

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) oversees the management of federal government records, including the Presidential Libraries

Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum complex and research organization with nineteen museums and galleries, nine research centers, the National Zoo, and extensive online exhibitions and collections.

UC Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE has digital collections of texts and images as well as a list of links to other online archives and sources.

Online Archive of California historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections are available.

Rocky Mountain Online Archive is a source of information about archival collections in Colorado, New Mexico and Wyoming.